Staff and Board Members

Executive Director: Joel Zimmerman
Administrative Coordinator: Whitney Korthof


Board of Directors:

President Tom Klassa, Shell Lake
Vice President Sara Miles, Minong
Treasurer Tricia Condreva, Spooner
Secretary Virginia Hurckman, Birchwood
Member Nikki Janisin, Birchwood
Member Steve Smith, Washburn County Representative
Member Kevin Pagorek, Minong
Member Bill Marx, Spooner
Member David Wilson, Washburn County Representative
Member Jill Dunlavy, Shell Lake
Member Sherry Sutton, Stone Lake

The WCEDC Board of Directors is composed of no less than nine (9) or no more than eleven (11) persons elected by the membership at its Annual meeting held the third Wednesday of June at the WCEDC office 208 Vine St Spooner, Wisconsin or a site (TBD). The Directors shall be serve three (3) year staggered terms so that one-third (1/3) of the Directors are elected each year. The Directors shall be from and serve the major geographical areas within Washburn County.

The Board of Directors meets on the third Tuesday of each month at 7:30 AM at the WCEDC office.

The WCEDC provides assistance:

  1. By marketing and selling the county’s many attributes and amenities to industries and businesses outside Washburn County
  2. By networking with county, regional, state and national agencies to provide business technical assistance to new and existing business and industry
  3. By working with area lenders and commercial borrowers to develop financing solutions and alternatives for business development and expansion
  4. By working with Washburn County Industrial Development Agency that provides secondary and “gap” financing through the Revolving Loan Fund of Washburn County
  5. By assisting and facilitating with business training needs
  6. By networking with commercial realtors and local officials on commercial and industrial sites within the county

Washburn County Economic Development Corporation is a U.S. Internal Revenue Service (IRS) approved 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation and all contributions are tax deductible.